Les Grottes du Régulus

Tours

Guided tours


A period of three-quarters of an hour, they allow to discover the story of Meschers’ cliffs from the origin to our times.
During this travel, the long and the short history to meet sometimes the legend…

  • To our English, German, Dutch, Spanish and Italians friends, written translations are available. Touchscreen tablets are available for deaf and hard of hearing.
  • Touch tablets available to the deaf and hard of hearing.

Thematics which are broach


Geology/Estuary

Geology


Between 140 to 65 million years (at the cretaceous), our latitudes were lulling by a tropical climate, waters used to cover our region. Meschers was under a shallow sea where was living many animal and plants species. At their death, shells and skeletons settled at this seabed. This finish to form a sedimentary pile. The cliffs still underwater are borned. With glaciations periods, we will have to wait the end of tertiary and quaternary era in order to water withdraw and finally the limestone cliffs of Meschers appearing openly.

Estuary of Gironde


It begins to Bec d’Ambès and finish to the points of Suzac and Grave. 75 km long, 12 km large at his maximum (in terms of Mortagne) and around 635 km², the estuary of Gironde is the greater estuary of Europe. It is also the only estuary of France where two rivers plunge into (Dordogne and Garonne).

Peach

Peach in the estuary


The meager (maigre) and his grunts, the small (pibale) or civelle (elver) and his amazing journey since the sea of Sargasses but also the European sturgeon which once we are producing the « caviar d’Aquitaine » and today his protection program.

Restaurant

Restaurant of Fontaines


Former open-air café which was receiving at the XIX century the middle class in holiday on our coasts where the first sea bathing has grow.

The Man and the cliff

The Man and the Meschers's cliff


Used like refuge by the Protestants « michelais » during religions wars, it’s at the end of XIX century that womens and mens are coming settle for a long period. At this moment, we speak about troglodytic’s caves. The reconstruction of an accommodation and many post cards elders allow to understand the lifestyles. It is based on a convenience rural economy.

The fishing net

The fishing net on pontoon


That stranges' huts which populate our coasts.

The history of Regulus


This model made dream small and big people.

Cadet

The legend of Cadet


The legend of Cadetby means of his goat which is name Belin, during storms, are prompting sinking of the ships passing offshore our cliffs. The shipwreckers, myth or reality?

Contact

81 Bd de la Falaise
17132 MESCHERS SUR GIRONDE

Skip to main content

Les Grottes du Régulus

Les visites

Les visites guidées


D’une durée de ¾ d’heure, elles permettent de découvrir l’histoire des falaises de Meschers de leurs origines à nos jours.
Durant ce voyage la grande et la petite histoire rencontre parfois la légende…

  • Pour nos amis Anglais, Allemands, Hollandais, Espagnols et Italiens, des traductions écrites sont disponibles.
  • Tablettes tactiles à disposition des sourds et malentendants.

Thématiques abordées


Geologie/Estuaire

Géologie


Entre 140 millions d’années et 65 millions d’années (au Crétacé), nos latitudes étaient bercées par un climat tropical, les eaux recouvraient notre région. Meschers était alors sous une mer peu profonde où vivaient de nombreuses espèces animales et végétales. À leur mort coquilles et squelettes se déposèrent au fond de cette mer. Tout cela finit par former un amas sédimentaire. Les falaises encore sous marines, sont nées. Il faudra attendre la fin de l’ère tertiaire et l’ère quaternaire, avec ses périodes de glaciations pour que l’eau se retire et qu’enfin les falaises de calcaire de Meschers apparaissent au grand jour.

Estuaire de la Gironde


Il commence au Bec d’Ambès et se termine au niveau de la pointe de Suzac et de la pointe de Grave. Avec 75km de long, 12 km de large à son maximum (au niveau de Mortagne) et près de 635 km2 l’estuaire de la Gironde est le plus vaste estuaire d’Europe. C’est aussi le seul estuaire de France où se jettent deux fleuves (Dordogne et Garonne).

La pêche

La pêche en estuaire


Le maigre et ses grognements, la petite pibale ou civelle et son étonnant voyage depuis la mer des Sargasses mais aussi l’esturgeon d’Europe avec lequel on produisait autrefois le caviar d’Aquitaine et aujourd’hui son programme de protection.

Restaurant

Le restaurant des fontaines


Ancienne guinguette qui recevait au XIXème siècle la bourgeoisie en villégiature sur nos côtes où se développent les premiers bains de mer.

L’homme et les falaises

L’homme et les falaises de Meschers


Utilisées comme refuge par les Protestants michelais pendant les guerres de Religion, ce n’est véritablement qu’à la fin du XIXème siècle que des femmes et des hommes vinrent s’y installer sur le long terme. On parle alors d’habitats troglodytiques. La reconstitution d’un habitat et les nombreuses cartes postales anciennes permettent de comprendre ce mode de vie basé sur une économie rurale de proximité.

Les carrelets

Les carrelets sur ponton


Les carrelets sur ponton, ces étranges échassiers qui peuplent nos côtes.

L’histoire du Régulus


L’histoire du Régulus, dont la maquette fait rêver les petits et les grands.

Cadet

La légende de Cadet


La légende de Cadet, qui à l’aide de son bouc Belin provoquait, par temps de tempête, le naufrage des navires passant au large de nos falaises. Les naufrageurs, mythe ou réalité ?